Trends

Airbnb encourages the creation of unusual accommodation

airbnb unusual accommodation glamping
16/9/2021
Leah Woznica

Airbnb encourages the creation of unusual accommodation

It's time to travel local! Nature destinations are enjoying a meteoric rise in popularity, which has been greatly accelerated since the global covid-19 pandemic. Indeed, staycation (or holidays close to home) and local tourism have boomed in recent times. 
In particular, we are witnessing a revaluation of the French regions promoted by tourism players, such as Airbnb, who are taking advantage of this to readapt their offer and launch themselves into the unusual hotel market. Focus on France's leading hotelier !

 

Airbnb, a player in collaborative tourism

The world leader in holiday rentals is riding the wave of a more rural and responsible tourism of the future. According to the president of Airbnb France, Emmanuel Marill .
"The tricolour tourismTourism in France, which for a long time was concentrated in the Ile-de-France, Rhône-Alpes and Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur regions, is now spreading out. Tomorrow, the small village of 300 inhabitants, which is neither in the mountains nor on the coast, but has its own charm, history and soil, will have hosts who will offer their farm or their mill. And these people will find interested travellers.

glamping france

With this in mind, the platform that has revolutionised the world of tourism has launched a new feature on its application: the "In the wild" collection offers a selection of accommodation in a rejuvenating and natural environment. This "Favourites Collection" is tailored to the needs of travellers in search of well-being.
As we saw in the article "Travelling differently with slow tourismAs we have seen in the article "Slow tourism", new tourist habits are emerging with a real return to the roots and the search for a more inspiring experience!

lodge without planning permission

A strategy for rural destinations

Cock-a-doodle-doo! This summer, most French holidaymakers opted for a stay within the country. Airbnb counted "nearly 100 new French destinations that welcomed a tourist for the first time". This confirms the phenomenon of domestic tourismThis confirms the phenomenon of the "holiday in France", with a renewed interest by the French in the beauty of our regions.
According to the platform, almost half of French people(45% of bookings) have turned to a rural holiday during the summer of 2021, compared to 24% during the same period in 2019. This need to reconnect with nature has therefore spread to the choice of destinations. Mountain and coastal departments such as the Var, Vaucluse and Pyrénées-Atlantique are among the top emerging destinations this year.  

buy wooden dome


Taking advantage of the rural craze, Emmanuel Marill said .
"We note that new travel habits create new economic opportunities for many areas across France. We encourage all those considering joining the host community in France to take advantage of the current travel upturn - it not only provides additional income but also recovery - not only does it provide additional income but it also contribute to the revival of local economies.”.
Among its commitments to the regions, Airbnb is a partner of the Bienvenue à la ferme (Welcome to the Farm ) network and MiiMOSA (a participatory financing platform). For the past 4 years, their call for projects has aimed to supportagritourism in France. And it must be said that this approach is a real success! French rural hosts have obtained nearly 450 million euros of additional income since the beginning of the pandemic thanks to the rental of their accommodation. 

glamping france


More recently, the platform has entered into a partnership with the mayors of France's rural municipalities. The aim is to promote destinations in the countryside and to develop the creation of 15,000 accommodations before the beginning of 2022. To contribute to this, Airbnb also plans to invest 100 euros for each new rural rental advert. This is enough to attract project owners who are still hesitant...

The open-air hotel industry is booming

Keeping up to date with the times through its rural actions, the platform is adapting to the demand and new ways of travelling. According to their study, long stays are constantly on the rise since the teleworking craze. This nomadic lifestyle is becoming increasingly popular and Airbnb has taken advantage of this to launch the "Everywhere at home" competition, which allows those selected to travel around the world for one year (from July 2021 to July 2022). This programme reveals the platform's ambition to innovate by proposing new offers and experiences. 

unusual hut

But that's not all... Have you noticed the new posters advertising your bus stops or metro stations? After rurality and nomadism, Airbnb is entering the unusual market! In 2020, the company launched a $1 million fund to help finance 10 unique, sustainable and unexpected accommodation projects. Like our work for Alpin d'Hôme, an atypical hotel in the heart of the Alps, FUGU Hospitality adapts to all your most challenging projects to offer you made to measure !

buy wooden dome


Searches for these atypical accommodations are booming on the platform, with a 70% increase this year. According to Airbnb, these ecolodges are now among the most booked accommodations in the world on their rental site! Discover our panel of innovative and high-end accommodations to create a hotel complex in your image: 
  • The Wooden Domefor nature lovers in search of well-being
  • The house Kodawith a contemporary and minimalist style 
  • The Lushna Hutromantic and glamorous
  • The Halo Dometotally transparent for a panoramic view

Finally, the former start-up launched a new development strategy focused on rural and unusual tourism. Unusual experiences in the open air are increasingly attractive to travellers. Airbnb is therefore presenting this trend as a real opportunity for investors and project leaders who want to develop their own glamping site.
Don't hesitate, follow our best advice to create your own hotel estate in the middle of nature!

Discover our ecolodges

Founded in 2011, FUGU® specialises in Nomadic Structures & Innovative Architectures for the event and hotel industry

By clicking on "Accept all cookies", you agree that cookies may be stored on your device in order to improve the navigation of the site and to analyse its use. See our Legal Notice for more information.

Tendances

Airbnb encourage la création de logements insolites

airbnb logements insolites
16/9/2021
Leah Woznica

Airbnb encourage la création de logements insolites

L’heure est au voyager local ! Les destinations de pleine nature connaissent un succès fulgurant qui s’est largement accéléré depuis la pandémie mondiale de la covid-19. En effet, le staycation (ou vacances près de chez soi) et le tourisme de proximité ont fait un boom considérable ces derniers temps. 
On assiste notamment à une revalorisation des régions françaises mise en avant par les acteurs touristiques, comme Airbnb, qui en profitent pour réadapter leur offre et se lancer sur le marché de l’hôtellerie insolite. Zoom sur le 1er hôtelier de France !

 

Airbnb, acteur d’un tourisme collaboratif

Le leader mondial de la location de vacances surfe sur la vague d’un tourisme d’avenir, plus rural et responsable. Selon le président d’Airbnb France, Emmanuel Marill :
“Le tourisme tricolore, longtemps concentré en Île-de-France, Rhône-Alpes et Paca, se disperse. Demain, le petit village de 300 habitants qui ne se situe ni à la montagne ni sur la côte, mais possède son charme, son histoire et son terroir, aura des hôtes qui proposeront leur ferme ou leur moulin. Et ces gens-là trouveront des voyageurs intéressés".

Dans cette optique, la plateforme qui a révolutionné le monde du tourisme a lancé une nouvelle fonctionnalité sur son application : la collection “En pleine nature” propose une sélection de logements dans un environnement ressourçant et naturel. Cette “Collection de favoris” s’adapte à la demande des voyageurs en quête de bien-être.
Comme nous l’avons vu dans l’article “Voyager autrement avec le slow tourisme”, de nouvelles habitudes touristiques voient le jour avec un réel retour aux sources et la recherche d’une expérience plus inspirante !

Une stratégie au service des destinations rurales

Cocorico ! Cet été, la plupart des vacanciers français ont opté pour un séjour au sein du territoire. Airbnb a compté “près de 100 nouvelles destinations françaises ayant accueilli un touriste pour la première fois”. Cela confirme le phénomène du tourisme domestique, avec un regain d’intérêt donné par les français pour la beauté de nos régions.
Selon la plateforme, près de la moitié des français (45% des réservations) se sont tournés vers un séjour rural durant l’été 2021, contre 24% à la même période en 2019. Ce besoin de reconnexion avec la nature s’est donc répandu jusqu’au choix des destinations. Les départements de montagne et du littoral comme le Var, le Vaucluse ou encore les Pyrénées-Atlantique font partie du palmarès des destinations émergentes cette année.  


Profitant de cet engouement pour le rural, Emmanuel Marill a affirmé :
“Nous notons que de nouvelles habitudes de voyage créent de nouvelles opportunités économiques pour de nombreux territoires partout en France. Nous encourageons tous ceux qui envisagent de rejoindre la communauté d’hôtes en France de profiter de la reprise des voyages actuelle – cela permet non seulement d’obtenir des revenus complémentaires mais aussi de contribuer à la relance des économies locales.”. 
Parmi ses engagements pour les territoires, Airbnb est partenaire des réseaux Bienvenue à la ferme et MiiMOSA (plateforme de financement participatif). Depuis 4 ans, leur appel à projets vise à soutenir l’agritourisme en France. Et il faut dire que cette démarche est un réel succès !  Les hôtes ruraux français ont obtenu près de 450 millions d'euros de revenus additionnels depuis le début de la pandémie grâce à la location de leur logement. 


Plus récemment, la plateforme a d’ailleurs conclu un partenariat avec les maires des communes rurales de France. L’objectif est de promouvoir les destinations en pleine nature et de développer la création de 15 000 logements avant début 2022. Pour y contribuer, Airbnb prévoit également d’investir 100 euros pour chaque nouvelle annonce de location à la campagne. De quoi séduire les porteurs de projets encore hésitants...

L’hôtellerie de plein air en plein essor

Se mettant au goût du jour à travers ses actions pour le rural, la plateforme s’adapte à la demande et aux nouvelles manières de voyager. Selon leur étude, les longs séjours sont en constante augmentation depuis l’engouement pour le télétravail. Ce mode de vie nomade plaît de plus en plus et Airbnb en a profité pour lancer le concours “Partout chez vous” qui permet aux sélectionnés de partir en tour du monde pendant un an (de juillet 2021 à juillet 2022). Ce programme dévoile l’ambition de la plateforme d’innover en proposant des offres et des expériences inédites. 

Mais ce n’est pas tout… Avez-vous remarqué les nouvelles affiches publicitaires de vos arrêts de bus ou des bouches de métro ? Après la ruralité et le nomadisme, Airbnb se lance dans le marché de l’insolite ! En 2020, la société a lancé un fonds d’1 million de dollars pour aider à financer 10 projets d'hébergement uniques, durables et inattendus. A l’image de notre réalisation pour Alpin d’Hôme, un hôtel atypique en plein cœur des Alpes, FUGU Hospitality s’adapte à tous vos projets les plus challengeants pour vous proposer du sur-mesure !


Il faut dire que les recherches pour ces logements atypiques connaissent un véritable essor sur la plateforme, avec une augmentation de 70% cette année. Selon Airbnb, ces ecolodges font désormais partie des hébergements les plus réservés au monde sur leur site de location ! Découvrez notre panel de logements innovants et hauts-de-gamme pour créer un complexe hôtelier à votre image : 
  • Le Dôme Bois, pour les amoureux de la nature en quête de bien-être
  • La maison Koda, au style contemporain et minimaliste 
  • La Cabane Lushna, à la fois romantique et glamour
  • Le Dôme Halo, totalement transparent pour une vue panoramique

Finalement, l’ancienne start-up a lancé une nouvelle stratégie de développement axée sur le tourisme rural et insolite. Les expériences inédites au grand air séduisent de plus en plus les voyageurs. Airbnb présente donc cette tendance comme une réelle opportunité à saisir pour les investisseurs et porteurs de projets qui souhaitent développer leur propre site de glamping.
N’hésitez-plus, suivez nos meilleurs conseils pour créer, vous aussi, votre domaine hôtelier en pleine nature !

Découvrez nos ecolodges

Fondé en 2011, FUGU® est spécialisé en Structures Nomades & Architectures Innovantes pour l’événementiel et l’hôtellerie

En cliquant sur "Accepter tous les cookies", vous acceptez que des cookies soient stockés sur votre appareil afin d'améliorer la navigation sur le site, d'analyser son utilisation. Consultez nos Mentions Légales pour plus d'informations.